Contests

One Day Remaining In Our July Giveaway

Posted on 31 July 2014

Just a quick reminder that there is only one day left in our July giveaway for the Smith & Bradley Sans-13.  If you’ve not yet entered, head on over here and follow the steps in the widget.

Comments (1)

Reviews, Under $500

Cognitime Classic, the Digital Analog Alternative

Posted on 31 July 2014

Cognitime Classic 01

One of the things I struggle with as a watch reviewer is how to discuss a watch that I don’t dislike, and there is nothing wrong with it, but it is just not for me.  However, it may be perfect for other readers of the site. After all, I do not represent every watch buyer, I probably don’t even represent the average watch buyer. Continue Reading

Comments (0)

Deals, New Models, TokyoFlash, Under $500

Tokyoflash Japan Kisai Kaidoku Wood, For the Readers Out There

Posted on 30 July 2014

Tokyoflash Kisai Kaidoku Wood 03

If you have read the site for a while, you should be aware of TokyoFlash Japan, a watch maker that specialized in… alternative displays built into digital watches.  We have reviewed a number of their watches to date, and they just reached out to us for a launch deal on the new TokyoFlash Japan Kisai Kaidoku Wood.  Through around 7:00 Pacific on July 30, you can get this watch for the introductory price of $109 (I don’t know what it goes up to after that). Continue Reading

Comments (1)

Crowd Funded, Diver, Lew & Huey, New Models, Under $500

Lew & Huey Orthos, Lets Go Diving

Posted on 29 July 2014

Lew Huey Orthos 01

For a lot of guys, a diver is the default tool watch.  The cases are usually fairly beefy, and that translates to masculine, the watches themselves are rugged, they serve a purpose, and they broadcast to the world that you are a man of action.  So you might as well inject a little style into the watch as well.  That is where the Lew & Huey Orthos comes in with their latest Kickstarter campaign.  These ‘friends of the site’ have put their fifth model up for sale, and the first true diver of the bunch.

Lew Huey Orthos 02

Like the previous watches from the brand, this one is an automatic, powered by a Seiko Calibre 4r36 (NH35), which is both haking and hand winding, with a 41 hour power reserve.  The 42mm case and bracelet are done in brushed stainless, and there is a slightly domed sapphire crystal up front.  The watch offers 30 ATM (990 feet) or water resistance and a 120 click uni-directional bezel, so yes, this is a true diver’s watch.  Not that you have to wear it diving.  Visually, the dial is very attractive with both a color fade and a sunburst pattern.  After reviewing their Acionna, I can attest that they make interesting dials that really pop in the sunlight.

Lew Huey Orthos 03

With this as their fifth model debuting on Kickstarter, I have to commend the brand for doing things right on the site.  This is a new model, and the prototypes do not always match the final product.  The project page does a very good job in laying out how the watch is going to change from prototype to final project, something I think all watch makers looking to move to crowd funding should understand and emulate.  The price for a watch is $400, and there are a number of other types of rewards offered.  There are two versions a red and a blue face.  I like the looks of the red face, but I also really like the orange bezel on the blue watch.  And no, I would not suggest pairing them, as I think it would be too much.  The lume on the watch also looks to be well done and appropriate for this type of watch.  If you are looking for a budget minded diver, check out the project pagelewandhuey.com

Watch Overview

  • Brand & Model: Lew & Huey Orthos
  • Price: $400
  • Who we think it might be for: Everyone needs a diver.
  • Would I buy or recommend it just on the photos?:  Yes, the brand delivers on their watches.
  • If I could make one design suggestion, it would be: Expansion built into the clasp.
  • What spoke to me the most about this watch:  I like the color fade in the dial.

Comments (2)

Reviews

A Watch Strap Review Roundup

Posted on 28 July 2014

round and round

Today, we’ve got something a bit different. While we’ve done reviews of watch straps in the past, they’ve generally been stand-alone affairs. Recently, though, I’ve had a good number of straps come through. Given that people are likely evaluating strap options with the change in weather, I thought it would be handy to have a watch strap roundup of sorts, covering six straps we’ve recently had in. Continue Reading

Comments (3)

Watch Video Rewind

The Watch Video Rewind for July 27, 2014

Posted on 27 July 2014

rewind_logo_1

It’s Sunday, so that means it’s time for some lazy morning watching, courtesy of the Watch Video Rewind.  While past installments of this series have had a handful of videos in them.  Today, I’ve only got one video for you – but what a doozy it is! Continue Reading

Comments (0)

Watching The Web

Watching the Web for July 26, 2014

Posted on 26 July 2014

web

Welcome back to our weekly installment, Watching the Web, where we have a quick look at some interesting watches and articles that have popped up over the last week, as well as taking a second look at what some of our more popular articles this week were. Today, we’ve got an adventure in making your own watch, and a watch that honors the Wright Brothers.  After those, we’ll highlight (as usual) some of our more popular posts from the last week. Read on to see what we’ve got in store for you. Continue Reading

Comments (0)

Crowd Funded, Under $1000, Under $500

A Trio of Kickstarter Projects

Posted on 25 July 2014

Melbourne Watch Co Portsea 03

A trio of watches have popped up on Kickstarter lately, one from a brand we know, one associated with a brand we know, and one from a newcomer.  There is the Portsea by Melbourne Watch Company, a brand who’s previous watch I reviewed, and liked a lot.  Second up is the inaugural model from Throne Watches.  Though it is a new brand, assembly is being outsourced to Smith & Bradley, a brand Patrick has covered.  Finally is the newcomer, Instrmnt Limited, with the Instrmnt 01. Continue Reading

Comments (2)

Archives

Advertise Here
Advertise Here

Subscribe to our newsletter


Rolex Watch - Get the best prices to Buy Men’s Rolex watches & Ladies Rolex– the pre-owned Rolex exchange 
www.bobswatches.com

WWR Recommends…